The MSJC Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2010 to honor the great coaches, players, and contributors to the Athletic Department. 


Class of 2010

John Chambers (Basketball Coach/Athletic Director)

John Chambers head coaching career spanned 33 years, 31 at MSJC and in that time his teams collected 703 victories, 658 while leading the Eagles. The 703 wins represented the State Community College record at the time of his retirement in 2003. Chambers teams won over 20 games in a season 21 times and won over 30 games on three different occasions. Chambers teams qualified for the post season 25 times including a run of 18 years in a row. Twice his teams played for the State Championship and six times his teams made it to the Elite Eight State Finals. In 1998 Chambers was named the California Community College Coach of the Year to go along with being named his conference's coach of the year 13 different times.

Bob Stangel (Football Coach)

Bob Stangel's coaching career at MSJC ran from 1974 through 1999. During Stangel's tenure the Eagles won 154 games which makes him the school's all time leader in that category. The Eagles won four conference titles under Stangel and in his final four seasons at the helm his teams made four straight bowl appearances. The Eagles recorded 9 seasons of 7 or more wins in that time. Stangel was named the conference coach of the year seven times and three times named Region III coach of the year. During the 1998 season Stangel was named the State Coach of the Year.

Alvin Walton (Football Player)

Alvin Walton played strong safety on the football team at MSJC in 1982 and 1983. Walton was twice selected First Team All Conference and in his sophomore season was also named All State and All American. Following his two years at MSJC Walton received a scholarship to Kansas University. Alvin was selected by the Washington Redskins in the third round of the 1986 NFL draft. Walton went on to play six seasons for Washington. Walton was a starter for the 'Skins when they won Super Bowl XXII in 1988. He was named to the All Madden Team that same season. Following his career in the NFL Walton also won a Grey Cup Championship (CFL) with the Baltimore Stallions.



Class of 2017

Troy Truvillion (Men's Basketball Player)

Troy Truvillion played men’s basketball at Mt. San Jacinto College during the 1987-88 season. In his one season at MSJC Troy led the team to a conference title and an overall record of 28-6. Truvillion was named the Most Valuable Player of the Conference and was also tabbed First Team All-State after averaging 22 points per game. Truvillion scored a total of 747 points during the year which is the 8th most in a single season in program history. Troy went on to Eastern Montana University (Montana State-Billings) where in two seasons he scored over 1,000 points and is already enshrined in their Hall of Fame. After college Troy went on to play 11 professional seasons in Europe and Australia.

Britney Iredale (Women's Basketball Player)

Britney Iredale played women’s basketball at Mt. San Jacinto College from 2005 through 2007. Iredale was a two time First Team All-Conference selection and at the conclusion of her sophomore season was named the Foothill Conference Player of the Year as well as being named First Team All-State. During her sophomore season Iredale led the Lady Eagles to the first conference championship in program history. The team also went on to the play-offs for the first time and earned their first ever post season victory finishing the season with a record of 27-6. Britney went on to Upper Iowa University on a basketball scholarship where in her senior season she was named All Northern Sun Conference.

1982 Baseball Team (State Runners-up)

Team Members--Brian Shadenborn, Gary Kielhold, Von Gromn, Scottt Cannon, Rick Cingras, Jeff Hensley, Michael Carr, Chris McGrath, Herb Clagggett (Coach) Paul Moore (Head Coach), Mark Veiga, Keith Haffer, Allen Silva, John Flowers, Carl Johnson, Gregg Shaw (Coach), Front Row-Bobby Tompkins, Billy Wilson, Tim Kelly, Tony Lara, Cameron Webb, Dave Mendoza, Paul Martinez

The 1982 Mt. San Jacinto College baseball team reached the Division II State Championship game and finished the year as State Runners-up. The Eagles who hosted the State Finals that season ended their stellar year with an overall record of 25-15. During the regular season Head Coach Paul Moore’s team won the Foothill Conference title with a record of 13-7. Six MSJC players were named First Team All-Conference. The Eagles also won the Imperial Valley College Tournament during the regular season. At the time, the 1982 baseball team was just the second program in school history to reach the State Finals.

Charles "B-bop" Silvas (Emeritus Service)

Charles "B-bop" Silvas was awarded the inaugural President's Award for his contributions to the MSJC Athletic Department throughout his life.  B-bop was an MSJC Athlete, and MSJC Coach, a parent of MSJC athletes, and a generous benefactor to the Department.


Class of 2023

Jamaal Tinsley (Men's Basketball)

Jamaal led the Eagles to the state championship game during his sophomore year for MSJC in 1999.  He was the Foothill Conference Player of the Year as well as being named First Team All-State.  He earned a scholarship to Iowa State University where he helped the Cyclones to the NCAA Tournament’s Elite Eight and was the Big 12 Player of the Year.  He was the 27th pick in the first round of the 2001 NBA draft and went on to play 11 seasons in the league.

John Norman (Football)

John Norman was an All-Conference and All-State quarterback for MSJC and led the team to a conference championship in 1975.  Norman, who played both high school and junior college football for MSJC Hall of Fame Coach Bob Stengel earned a scholarship to Oregon State University.  Since returning to the area Norman has been heavily involved in the community.  He spent 1979-1988 at Banning High School as a teacher and a coach.  He was also the head football coach at San Jacinto High as well as teaching and coaching at MSJC for 10 years as both an assistant football and head tennis coach.  Beyond his coaching and teaching roles John has served on the Board of Trustees for the San Jacinto Unified School District as well as the Board for the Valley Restart Shelter.

1999 Football Team

The 1999 football team finished the season 10-1 overall and were the undefeated champions of the Foothill Conference.  The team ended the year with a victory in the Mission Bowl against Mt. SAC and finished the season ranked #8 in the country by JC Gridwire.  David Minnich was named the Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year while Kevin Boyd earned the Defensive Player of the Year honor.  18 players in all earned all-conference recognition, with several of them also earning All-Region honors.  Minnich and Boyd also garnered All-American honors and Head Coach Bob Stengel was both conference and Region Coach of the Year.

Ken Reed (Emeritus Service)

Ken Reed has been an invaluable part of the MSJC athletic department for the past 50 plus years.  The long-time teacher and coach at San Jacinto High started his association with MSJC back in the 1960’s as a member of the Eagle baseball team as well as serving as a student trainer for football and basketball.  He has helped the department with score keeping, public address announcing, and fund raising among countless other things.  Ken has been an active service member throughout the community most notably with the San Jacinto Lions Club.  He spearheaded the launch of the San Jacinto Lions Club Tip-Off Classic for women’s basketball which began in 2012.